Landlords in California should use the 3 day eviction notice for non-payment of rent when their tenant owes past-due rent. If the tenant has not paid the rent when due, the landlord should immediately serve a 3 day eviction notice. Do not wait more than one or two days to serve the 3 day eviction notice. Each day that goes by without serving the 3 day eviction notice is lost income to the landlord, and the chances of recovering that money in an unlawful detainer judgment is not high.
Here is what a 3 day eviction notice based on non-payment of rent looks like:
Landlords and property managers can download a fillable 3 day eviction notice template along with instructions on how to properly fill it out here. We offer this 3 day eviction notice template for free for a limited time.
For more information on the 3 day eviction notice for non-payment of rent, read California Civil Code of Procedure 1161(2).
If you prefer an attorney to create the notice and a process server to serve it (this is recommended), contact us.
Note: This form may not be applicable in rent-controlled jurisdictions.
Landlords will often wait too long before serving the eviction notice. This is a common mistake. Keep in mind that the eviction notice for non-payment of rent is only step 1 of the eviction case. Once the 3 days’ expire, the landlord must then follow-up with an unlawful detainer court case. The “UD” case can take a minimum of 4 weeks, but oftentimes takes 5-7 weeks, even on a non-disputed eviction case where the tenant doesn’t fight the case. Serve the 3 day eviction notice immediately when the rent is past-due to minimize delays.
In addition to the 3 day notice discussed above, this law office offers many more forms as well.
The Law Office of David Piotrowski can assist landlords with unlawful detainer eviction cases. We work hard to make your case proceed as quickly as possible.
Be sure to check out our reviews! We look forward to serving you. We offer a free consultation on most cases.