Calculating the 3 Day Notice Period in Los Angeles, California

Before a Los Angeles landlord can begin the eviction process based on a 3 day termination notice, the 3 days must have elapsed.  Therefore, it is crucial that the Los Angeles landlord properly calculate the days.

After the 3 day notice is served, 3 full days must pass before the Los Angeles landlord can take the next step in evicting the tenant.  To properly calculate the time, the Los Angeles landlord must exclude the first day and include the last day.  If the third day falls on a legal holiday or weekend, then the tenant gets an extra day (the eviction may be filed the day after the next business day).  For example, if the 3 day notice is served on a Wednesday, then the eviction cannot be filed in court until the following Tuesday.

Other helpful landlord links relating to the 3 Day Notice (in particular the 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit):

The Law Office of David Piotrowski can create and serve a 3 day notice on California tenants.  Contact the firm today.

Need Help?

This article is courtesy of the Law Office of David Piotrowski, a California law firm representing landlords with eviction matters.

Leave a Comment

Support Us

We need your support to keep this blog running and so we can continue to provide you with helpful information and best practices.

 

Will you help us?

Need Help?

The Law Office of David Piotrowski

represents California landlords.

Scroll to Top