In California, residential landlords may need to remove a tenant from the property for many different reasons. Some reasons require providing the tenant with a three (3) day notice. Other reasons require a 30 day notice, a 60 day notice, or even a 90 day notice. Further restrictions may apply in certain rent control jurisdictions.
This post will discuss the permissible grounds for serving a California tenant with a 3 day notice. A word of caution: the local rent control ordinance should be checked, if applicable, as rent control laws may change the circumstances in which a 3 day notice may be served on a California tenant.
California landlords may serve their tenant with a 3 Day Notice for the following reasons:
- Where the tenant has defaulted in their rent and owes the California landlord unpaid rent (This is by far the most common reason for serving a California tenant with a 3 day notice. See below for other links on this blog discussing the 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit.)
- Where the California tenant has breached the rental agreement. Examples include having a pet when the lease says no pets are allowed, or using a waterbed when the lease says no waterbeds
- Where the tenant is committing a nuisance on the property
- Where the California tenant is committing “waste” on the property
- Where the tenant is using the property for an illegal purpose
- When the tenant has assigned or sublet the unit
Other helpful landlord links relating to the 3 Day Notice (in particular the 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit):
- 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit – Downloadable Form.
- 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit – Required Content.
- Giving tenants proper notice to terminate tenancy.
- 3 Day Notice in California – What if the tenant wants to pay?