The California Three Day Notice to Pay Rent can only demand rent for up to 1 year of serving the 3 day notice. The reason behind this rule is to prevent the California landlord from waiting for longer than a year to begin the eviction process, while the tenant is incurring a great deal of unpaid rent.
Any rent due that is over a year old may be recoverable by the California landlord in a separate lawsuit for breach of contract, but it will not be part of the eviction.
The Law Office of David Piotrowski recommends that the California landlord begin the eviction process within a week after the tenant stops paying the rent in order to minimize any losses.
Contact the Law Office of David Piotrowski today to begin the eviction process.