How do I fill out a 3 day notice to pay rent or quit in California? Here is a step by step guide:
- Enter the tenant’s full name, and include a note that says, “and all other occupants.” This will help protect you if a third party claims tenancy.
- Enter the exact property address. This should match the rental agreement.
- Include the amount of past-due rent. Do not include late fees. Make sure to itemize the rent due if more than 1 month is past-due (for example – June 2015: $800 due, July 2015: $800 due). Note: You can only go back a total of one year of unpaid rent on the 3 day notice.
- Include a notation stating what day of the month the rent is due, and what the monthly rent is.
- Include the landlord/agent’s name, address, and telephone number.
- Specify how payment is to be made, including dates/times when payment will be accepted.
- Sign your name and date the form.
- Properly serve the 3 day notice.
- Make copies for yourself and complete a proof of service.
Here’s a sample of what a portion of a 3 day notice to pay rent or quit should look like:
The 3 day notice to pay rent or quit in California is very technical. Not only must it be completed properly, it also needs to be validly served.
Need more help with the 3 day notice to pay rent or quit? Contact us for assistance.
The Law Office of David Piotrowski represents landlords throughout southern California and can assist with a tenant eviction.
Click here for more eviction blog posts.