How to Raise the Rent for California Landlord / Tenant Agreement

California landlords may raise the rent on a month-to-month agreement only after giving proper notice to the tenant.

For rent increases of no more than 10%, at least 30 days’ notice must be given.  If the rent increase will be more than 10%, 60 days’ notice is required to be given to the California tenant.

If the notice is served by mail, rather than be posting on the door, then the 30/60 day notice period is extended by an additional 5 days if sent to a California address, or 10 days if sent to a different state, or 20 days if sent to a different country.

The Law Office of David Piotrowski represents landlords throughout southern California and can assist with a tenant eviction.

Click here for more eviction blog posts.

You may also use the “search” feature on the Law Office website here.

Need Help?

This article is courtesy of the Law Office of David Piotrowski, a California law firm representing landlords with eviction matters.

Leave a Comment

Support Us

We need your support to keep this blog running and so we can continue to provide you with helpful information and best practices.

 

Will you help us?

Need Help?

The Law Office of David Piotrowski

represents California landlords.

Scroll to Top