Before filing an eviction in California, the landlord must first serve a termination notice on the tenant. One of the most popular termination notices is the 3 day notice. The proper reasons for serving a 3 day notice in California include the following:
1. The rent is past due and the tenant remains in possession of the California property;
2. The California tenant is served a 3 day notice for violation of a term of the rental agreement;
3. If the California tenant sublets, assigns, commits waste, creates a nuisance, or uses the property for an illegal purpose.
Note: The California landlord and tenant cannot contract for less than 3 day notice. A 3 day notice is the least amount of notice required to be given to a tenant who is in breach. However, LONGER than 3 day notice is allowed if the parties agree to a longer notice period in writing.
The Law Office of David Piotrowski represents landlords throughout southern California and can assist with a tenant eviction.
Click here for more eviction blog posts.
You may also use the “search” feature on the Law Office website here.