Tenant Abandonment in California – $700 Amount Threshold

 

Prior to January 2013, landlords could throw away abandoned property after proper notice and waiting the required number of days if the landlord believed the items to be worth less than $300. Beginning January 2013, the threshold has been increased to $700. If the landlord believes that the tenant’s abandoned property is worth less than $700, then they can dispose of it as they see fit after giving proper notice and waiting the required number of days. If the landlord reasonably believes the items are worth $700 or more, then the landlord is required to auction the abandoned property.

The Law Office of David Piotrowski represents landlords throughout southern California and can assist with a tenant eviction.

Read Attorney Piotrowski’s “Landlord Best Practices and Eviction Overview” book.

This entry was posted in Evictions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply