In California, a month-to-month tenancy may be terminated by written notice of at least 30 days if the tenant has lived in the house for less than a year, or 60 days if the tenant has lived in the house for a year or longer. For example, if 30 days’ notice of termination is given on July 10, then the rent is due and payable up to and including August 9. Different rules may be applicable in rent control jurisdictions.
When the month to month tenancy is created in California, the landlord and tenant may provide in the lease than the tenancy may be terminated on notice different than the time frames discussed above. However, the notice agreed on must be given at least 7 days before the date of termination.
The termination notice of the month-to-month tenancy must be property served.
The Law Office of David Piotrowski represents landlords throughout southern California and can assist with a tenant eviction.
Click here for more eviction blog posts.
You may also use the “search” feature on the Law Office website here.