Terminating the Landlord-Tenant Relationship in California

In California, a landlord may terminate the landlord-tenant relationship in the following situations:

  • At the expiration of a fixed-term lease before it converts to a month-to-month.
  • At the conclusion of a properly-served 30 or 60 day notice terminating a month-to-month tenancy.
  • After the landlord properly serves a 3 day notice to pay rent or quit, and the tenant failed to cure the rent default during the 3 day period.
  • After the landlord properly serves a 3 day notice to cure or quit, and the tenant failed to cure the violation during the 3 day period.
  • After the landlord serves a  3 day notice to quit, if the tenant committed a non-curable breach.
  • After the tenant gives notice to the landlord and the landlord accepts the notice, and the tenant fails to vacate by the time the tenant promised to move.

Note: Local rent control laws may severely limit the landlord’s right to evict a tenant. Check your local laws.

Read David Piotrowski’s “Landlord Best Practices and Eviction Overview” book. If you need help with an eviction in Los Angeles or San Francisco, contact us today.

Need Help?

This article is courtesy of the Law Office of David Piotrowski, a California law firm representing landlords with eviction matters.

Support Us

We need your support to keep this blog running and so we can continue to provide you with helpful information and best practices.

 

Will you help us?

Need Help?

The Law Office of David Piotrowski

represents California landlords.

Scroll to Top