Three Day Notice in Los Angeles – One Year Limitation for Rent

As a follow up to an earlier post entitled, California 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit – Demanding Rent, the law requires that the three day non-payment of rent notice be served on the tenant at any time within one year after the rent becomes due.  This has been interpreted to mean that the 3 day notice can only demand rent accrued within one year prior to its service.  Including rent beyond one year invalidates the 3 day notice and the landlord might lose the case!

Surprisingly, I’ve had landlord clients approach me to assist with an eviction after waiting over a year to start the eviction process.  I always have to tell the landlord that they can only include up to one year’s worth of unpaid rent on the notice.  If the landlord wishes to sue for the rent beyond one year, then they would need to bring a separate lawsuit for breach of contract.  This results in more fees, and more time.

I always recommend that landlords begin the eviction process immediately when the tenant does not pay the rent on time.  Don’t wait even one month before starting the process of evicting the tenant.

Other helpful landlord links relating to the 3 Day Notice (in particular the 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit):

For help with an eviction and for serving a Three Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit, contact the Law Office of David Piotrowski.

Need Help?

This article is courtesy of the Law Office of David Piotrowski, a California law firm representing landlords with eviction matters.

Leave a Comment

Support Us

We need your support to keep this blog running and so we can continue to provide you with helpful information and best practices.

 

Will you help us?

Need Help?

The Law Office of David Piotrowski

represents California landlords.

Scroll to Top