California 3 Day Notice

The California 3 day notice is used in various tenant eviction scenarios, including non-payment of rent, rental agreement violations, and damaging the property. The California 3 day notice form has different variations depending on the reason it is being served on the tenant.

 

For example:

 

  1. California 3 Day Notice form under CCP 1161(2) used for a 3 day pay or quit.
  2. California 3 Day Notice form under CCP 1161(3) for a 3 day cure or quit.
  3. California 3 Day Notice form under CCP 1161(4) for a 3 day notice to quite California form.

3 Day Notice to Vacate

The 3 day notice to vacate, as described above, comes in many different varieties. It is the responsibility of the landlord or his attorney to determine the correct type of 3 day notice vacate. For example, even though failing to pay rent is considered a rental agreement violation, in the event of non-payment, a landlord should use a CCP 1161(2) 3 day notice to vacate rather than a CCP 1161(3) 3 day notice to vacate. On the other hand, if the tenant were violating a rental agreement prohibition against pets, then the landlord would want to serve a CCP 1161(3) 3 day notice to vacate.

 

To make things even more difficult, if the tenant was illegally assigning or subleasing the property, the law allows either a CCP 1161(3) 3 day notice to vacate or a CCP 1161(4) 3 day notice to vacate.

 

Here’s a sample of what a 3 day notice to vacate looks like:

A 3 day notice to vacate form is the first step in evicting a tenant that is not complying with the rental agreement. The 3 day notice to vacate is a prerequisite for an eviction in California when a tenant is violating the lease. Furthermore, the landlord and tenant may NOT contract away the 3 day notice to vacate requirement. Any provision in the rental agreement that says a 3 day notice to vacate is not needed is unenforceable.

3 Day Notice Form

It is crucial that the 3 day notice form is filled out correctly.   An incorrect 3 day notice form could invalidate your entire eviction, costing you more time and money because you would have to start the process over from the beginning, starting with a new 3 day notice form. Whether you decide to create and serve your own 3 day notice form or if you decide to hire an attorney to prepare the 3 day notice form for you, make sure it is done correctly.

 

This law firm can create and serve the 3 day notice form on your behalf.  If you feel comfortable serving the 3 day notice form yourself, then you can purchase a 3 day notice form template from us, along with a sample proof of service, and instructions, for $75, by contacting the firm. If you want us to both create and serve the 3 day notice form on your behalf, the cost is $250.

Ready for your one on one consultation with Attorney Piotrowski?
Why should you hire us?