Free California Eviction Forms for Landlords

Interested in one of our landlord/tenant legal forms? Some are available for free. Others are available for a fee. Should you experience any problems, simply contact us for assistance.

*NEW*
Fully Automated Forms

The following forms are completely automated. Property owners and landlords can enter relevant details, pay for, and immediately download customized forms for their rental properties. Click the form that you want to order from the list below, answer the questions, review your responses, pay for the form, and then immediately download and use the form. It couldn’t be easier to obtain fully-completed and customized landlord forms!

 

 

Unsure about what form/forms you should be using? Schedule a paid telephone call with us.

COVID-19 Forms

 

Unsure about the current eviction laws? Schedule a paid telephone call with us.

  • California Landlord & Eviction Forms

    • 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit – This form is required in California non-payment of rent cases.  This is the first step in the eviction process when the tenant has not paid the rent. This form is offered at $75.00.
    • 3 Day Notice to Cure or Quit – Is your tenant violating a term of the lease? Use this form to give the tenant 3 days to fix the violation. This form is offered at $75.00.
    • 3 Day Notice to Quit – Is your tenant assigning or subleasing without your permission? If your tenant damaging the property or causing a nuisance? If your tenant participating in verifiable illegal activities at the property? Serve the tenant with a 3 day notice to quit. This form is offered at $75.00.
    • Change in Terms Notice to Increase Rent or Make Other Changes to a Month-to-Month Tenancy – This form is $95 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. Subject to rent control restrictions, landlords wanting to change the terms of a month-to-month rental agreement, including but not limited to increasing the rent, can be accomplished by creating and serving on the tenant a change in terms notice in accordance with Civil Code 827. With this form, landlords can create a change in terms notice to increase the rent or change other parts of the rental agreement, such as limiting or removing attorney fees. For more information on changing the terms of a month-to-month tenancy, please refer to this blog article.
    • Residential Rental Application – This form is $25 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. The rental application is used by landlords to help determine whether or not to rent a unit to a prospective tenant. A must for landlords wanting to screen prospective tenants!
    • California Residential Rental Agreement – This form is $195 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. Residential rental agreements/leases in California should be in writing and outline the terms and conditions of the lease.
    • 24 Hour Notice to Enter – This form is $75 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. Reasonable access rights are granted to landlords of residential property.  A landlord may enter a property in case of emergency or for any valid purpose allowed by law.  Except in emergencies or when the tenant has abandoned or surrendered the unit, the landlord may enter during normal business hours unless the tenant consents to an entry during non-business hours.  In a majority of circumstances, at least 24 hours notice must be given and the notice must include the date, approximate time, and purpose of the entry.  Notice must be given by personal notice or left at the premises.  Or, the notice may be mailed but the mailing must occur at least 6 days before the intended entry. For more information, read our blog article.
    • Notice of Sale And Entry – Normally, a 24 hour notice is required in writing when a landlord needs access to a rental unit. An exception applies when the owner is selling the property, in which case the landlord may enter the property during normal business hours with 24 hour oral notice to show the property to prospective or actual purchases. The landlord must first serve written notice of sale and entry on the tenant.  A fee of $75.00 is charged to provide this form. Contact us to order the form.
    • Landlord/Tenant Checklist [pdf] – This form should be filled out at move-in and move-out, to be used to assist in determining the condition of the premises.  Free.
    • Security Deposit Itemization at End of Lease [pdf] – At the end of the lease, landlords are required to provide a security deposit itemization, along with a refund of any security deposit, if any, within 21 days.  Free.
    • Landlord Initial Inspection Notice at End of Lease [pdf] – Landlords are required to notify the tenant of their right to request an initial inspection of the property before the tenant vacates.  This notice provides the requisite notice to the tenant.  Free.
    • Landlord Itemized Statement of Repairs Identified in Initial Inspection [link to blog article] – If the tenant requests the initial inspection as noted above, then upon the conclusion of the landlord’s initial inspection prior to the termination of the tenancy, the Landlord needs to provide the tenant with an itemized statement of repairs/cleaning. A fee of $50 is charged to provide this form.
    • Notice of Belief of Abandonment – This form is $75 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. This form may be used if the landlord reasonably believes that the tenant is no longer living in the property.  Landlord’s are cautioned to pay careful attention to the rules relating to abandonment before seeking this remedy. Need more info? Read our blog article.
    • 30/60 Day Notice to Terminate Tenancy [link to blog article] – This form may be used to terminate a month-to-month tenancy.  30 day notice is required for a tenancy of less than a year.  60 day  notice is required for a tenancy of a year or more. A fee of $75 is charged to provide this form.
    • Notice of Right to Reclaim Abandoned Property – This form is $75 and is an automated form with instant download once purchased. If the tenant leaves behind personal property after vacating the premises, the landlord must issue a Notice of Right to Reclaim Personal Property.  The landlord must wait 15 days after the notice is personally delivered to the former tenant, or 18 days if mailed. If the tenant fails to reclaim the property, then the landlord may discard the belongings if they are believed to be worth less than $700.  However, if the landlord believes the value to be $700 or more, the landlord must hold a public sale. Need more info? Read our blog article.
    • Completed Repairs Form / Receipt – When a repair has been completed, the landlord should have the tenant sign a form stating that all repairs have been made in a timely and reasonable manner, and that all repairs are satisfactory.  A fee of $100.00 is charged to provide this form.
    • Receipt for Return of Keys / Possession – When your tenant moves out of the property, you should have the tenant sign a receipt stating that they have returned possession and the keys to you. A fee of $75.00 is charged to provide this form.
    • Eviction Flow Chart [jpg] – A visual representation of the California evictions process. Free.

By downloading or using any of these landlord and eviction forms, you understand that these are general form templates and may not be suitable for everyone, especially in rent control jurisdictions. If your property is subject to rent control, these forms may NOT apply to you. You acknowledge that the Law Office of David Piotrowski has not reviewed your individual case nor provided legal assistance to you.

 

Attorney Piotrowski publishes a book called, “California Landlord Best Practices and Eviction Overview: An Easy-to-Read Guide Outlining Best Practices for California Landlords Plus a Summary of the Eviction Process.” This book seeks to provide an easy-to-understand and concise guide for California landlords by providing valuable suggestions for managing the landlord/tenant relationship and also provides a high-level overview of what to expect in the event that the tenant needs to be evicted. This book should be used as a tool to educate the landlord about the business of renting property in California, with an emphasis on residential units.

$99 Legal Plan for Landlords

Did you know that we offer a $99/month legal service plan for landlords? With this plan, you have access to our entire landlord/tenant form library, plus easy access to a landlord attorney at your fingertips. You also receive a free copy of the landlord best practices book and a 5% discount on attorney fees.

Click the + sign next to any item to see more.

Featured Yelp Reviews

The Law Office of David Piotrowski receives 5 star reviews from clients on Yelp!

 

View a sampling of our 5 star Yelp reviews or visit the Law Office of David Piotrowski on Yelp to see a full listing of our reviews.

Eviction Overview Video
Sample Eviction Judgment
Latest Facebook Posts

Be sure to follow the Law Office of David Piotrowski on Facebook for lots of helpful landlord tips and information related to evictions in California.

 

View our latest posts on Facebook.

Latest Tweets on Twitter


Landlord/Tenant Q&A
Ready to receive your free consultation?
Why should you hire us?